This is not my article. I do not know the authors name other than the information was copied from the Facebook Group "How to permanently delete your facebook account.".
The article author writes:
"Ever tried to leave Facebook and found out they only allow you to "deactivate" your account? All your personal data, including photos, interests, friends etc will still be saved indefinitely! You don’t have to be a conspiracist to find this quite fishy (or simply annoying)!
Maybe you see no reason to leave Facebook yet?
In any case, information about how to close an account should be easily available to all members. Join this group to keep the information handy the day you appreciate your privacy more than updating long lost “friends” of your life.
HOW TO DELETE (long version)
Go here (working link above):
Click "Submit" and follow the instructions.
Your account will be deactivated for two weeks, and if you DO NOT USE FACEBOOK IN ANY WAY during that period, your account is permanently deleted.
I REPEAT: Your profile isn't deleted right away! You must NOT log in to, or interact in any other way with Facebook for at least two weeks, as it will cancel the deletion request. That includes NOT logging in to Facebook using any client (like the iPhone app or IM:s like Pidgin), NOT clicking embedded Like-buttons on other websites, NOT logging in to other services using Facebook Connect (like Digg) etc etc.
Hey, while your're at it, delete all your browsing/forms history and cookies as well, to minimize the risk of accidentally using your account!
If you want out - stay out, mmmkay? ;)
There you have it....